Department of Yogic Sciences

The Department of Yoga was established in Gurukul Kangri University, Haridwar in 1984 by starting four months diploma in yoga.

The Certificate In Yoga (Six Month duration), PG diploma in Human Consciousness and Yogic Science (1 year duration), yoga as an elective subject in Alankar /B.A. and two years M.A./M.Sc. in Human Consciousness and Yogic Science courses were started by the department in 1984, 1988, 1990 and 1992 respectively.

The department also started Ph.D. programme in Yoga in 1996. UGC sanctioned the grant in aid to establish the Department of Human Conscious and Yogic Science in 2001.

Presently, Prof. Ishwar Bhardwaj, (Prof. and Dean), Dr. Rakesh Giri, (Associate Professor & Head), Dr. S.K. Tyagi, (Assistant Professor) and Dr. Udham Singh (Assistant Professor) are senior faculty members to fulfil the teaching needs.

In addition to this, three posts of yoga instructors are in existence to cater to the need of practical aspects of Yoga. Dr. Yogeshwar Dutt, Dr. Rajeev Sharma and Dr. Nishkarsh Sharma are working against these posts. There are four visiting faculty members for teaching needs of the student

(Since - 2005)

Exclusive Online Partner